page header

Click this button

Awards & Research -

The Neilsen Foundation Allied Health Professional Research Award of ASIA (for ASIA members)

The Craig H. Neilsen Foundation has committed $25,000 per year for a five year period for a research award that will be presented by the American Spinal Injury Association at its annual meeting. The first award will be presented at the 2014 ASIA meeting, scheduled for May 14-17 in San Antonio, TX. This program is designed to encourage clinicians in the field of SCI to incorporate an element of research into their professional practices.


Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Each applicant must have a certified degree in an allied health professional field, e.g. nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy or social work, and be a member of ASIA in good standing. An applicant may have a Masters or clinical doctorate in his/her field. The applicant must not have other current funding for the project being proposed.
  2. Each applicant must submit a one-year clinical research proposal in the field of SCI. The rationale should be supported by a recent review of the literature.
  3. Each applicant must declare a mentor who is a senior researcher in the field of SCI or related area and is also a member of ASIA.
  4. Each applicant must complete the application form.
  5. All applications will be transmitted electronically to the email address displayed on the application form.

Selection Criteria:

  1. All applications will be reviewed by the ASIA Research and Awards Committee and evaluated based upon standard scientific criteria. A representative of the Neilsen Foundation will participate in the selection process.
  2. Qualifications of each applicant also will be considered in terms of interest in pursuing a research career in SCI.
  3. The qualifications and dedication of the applicant’s mentor will also be taken into consideration.
  4. Each applicant must have an appropriate research environment and resources to conduct the proposed research.
  5. The selection committee will rank the applicants, and the individual whose application is ranked first each year will receive the award, in the amount of $25,000.
  6. The selected recipient will attend the ASIA meeting to receive his/her award in person, and will be required to attend the first ASIA meeting held after the conclusion of the research project, to present his/her findings to meeting attendees.

Deadline for receipt of applications is: December 31, 2013

Download Application


ASIA's 2014 Annual Meeting, will take place in San Antonio, Texas May 14-17, 2014. Program and Registration are now online! Information

Parker Hannifin Corporation announced March 4, 2014 that it has entered into clinical trial agreements with four of the top ranked rehab institutions in the U.S. to support the testing and development of the Indego® exoskeleton. See press release.

ASIA has signed a one year contract to continue to offer its official journal, “Topics In SCI Rehabilitation", to all dues paying members in 2014. Members are encouraged to submit manuscripts to Topics for publication.

New worksheet available for International Standards for Neurological Classification of SCI (ISNCSCI)

SCOPE (Spinal Cord Outcomes Partnership Endeavor) News

Craig H. Neilsen Foundation's Request for Proposals on Psychosocial Research and Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) Letter of Intent deadline is March 14, 2014.

Pediatric Research Study invites participants

The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is offering a second Neural Repair and Rehabilitation certification examination. See details.

Toronto Rehab's 6th National Spinal Cord Injury Conference will be held October 2-4, 2014.