Officers/Board of Directors

ASIA is governed by a Board of Directors, whose membership composition is reflective of the multidisciplinary nature of its members. There are twelve (12) Directors, four of whom also serve as elected Officers. Nomination to the Board of ASIA is accomplished through the Directors Nominating Committee, comprised of the immediate past-president (chair) and five others who are either current or past members of the Board. Nominations for new Board appointments are submitted to the current Board of Directors for final vote. Individuals nominated to the Board of Directors have demonstrated significant contribution to the association either by service on committees or the scientific program, or have made significant contribution to the field of spinal cord injury.

Officers of The Organization

Michael Haak photo  

Michael Haak, M.D., President

Orthopaedic Surgery
Danville, PA
Mary Jane Mulcahey photo  

Mary Jane Mulcahey, PhD., O.T.R./L., President-Elect

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Keith Tansey photo  

Keith Tansey, M.D., Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer

Neurology, Research
Atlanta, Georgia
Andrei Krassioukov photo  

Andrei Krassioukov, M.D., Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer-Elect

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Research
Vancouver, BC, Canada

Board of Directors

William Bockenek  photo  

William Bockenek, M.D.

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Charlotte, North Carolina
Susan Charlifue photo  

Susan Charlifue, Ph.D.

Englewood, Colorado
Suzanne Groah photo  

Suzanne L. Groah, M.D.

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Washington, D.C.
Ronald Reeves photo  

Ronald K. Reeves, M.D.

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Rochester, Minnesota
John Steeves photo  

John Steeves, Ph.D.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Adam B. Stein photo  

Adam B. Stein, M.D.

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Long Island, New York

Ex-Officio Board Member:

James S. Krause photo  

James S. Krause, Ph.D.

Editor, "Topics in Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation"
Charleston, South Carolina

Past Presidents of ASIA

The Past Presidents of the organization continue service to the association as an ongoing resource to the Board and membership of ASIA. They include:

Lawrence Vogel, M.D.
Chicago, Illinois (2011-2013)

Michael Kennelly, M.D.
Charlotte, North Carolina (2010-2011)

Alexander Vaccaro, M.D.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (2009-2010)

Amie B. Jackson, M.D.
Birmingham, Alabama (2008-2009)

Glenn Rechtine, M.D.
Bay Pines, Florida (2007-2008)

Marcalee Sipski Alexander, M.D.
Birmingham, AL (2005-2007)

Jack E. Zigler, M.D.
Plano, Texas (2003-2005)

Daniel P. Lammertse, M.D.
Englewood, Colorado (2001-2003)

Douglas E. Garland, M.D.
Long Beach, California (1999-2001)

Kenneth C. Parsons, M.D.
Englewood, Colorado (1997-1999)

James S. Keene, M.D.
Madison, Wisconsin (1995-1997)

Kristjan T. Ragnarsson, M.D.
New York, New York (1993-1995)

Robert L. Waters, M.D.
Downey, California (1991-1993)

John F. Ditunno, Jr., M.D.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (1989-1991)

William H. Donovan, M.D.
Houston, Texas (1987-1989)

J. Darrell Shea, M.D.
Orlando, Florida (1985-1987)

David F. Apple, Jr., M.D.
Atlanta, Georgia (1983-1985)

Samuel L. Stover, M.D.
Huntsville, Alabama (1981-1983)

Paul R. Meyer, Jr., M.D., M.M.
Valparaiso, Indiana (1977-1981)

R. Edward Carter, M.D.
Houston, Texas (1973-1977)